Firebomb Somnambulist

23 Jun

One night long ago
I ate the flesh of a
freshly killed deer
that had talked
and walked with
God.

Then I sat alone
by the dying fire
that had cooked
the deer as the
sun fell
down
down.

I sat there chewing
on the darkness
that was
all around me,
inside
and out.

I passed
out later under
the moon, and
rolled in my dreams
into a baptism
of blood.

I awoke and
then knew that
religion was
an axe that
gives freedom
to the forest,
and I
was more than
a simple
man
of
bone
and
flesh.

2 Responses to “Firebomb Somnambulist”

  1. ShonEjai August 26, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    Amazing! You words are powerful! Are you a photographer as well as a poet?

    • mattspotentialpoetry August 26, 2011 at 12:36 am #

      Thanks so much for the kind words regarding my own, and yes to answer your question I am a photographer as well as a poet. All the images you see on this blog just like the poems were created by me. Thanks again for stopping by. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

