A Song of Love

25 Dec

for T. (for suggesting the title & knowing the joy of words)
S. (for being a friend when one was greatly needed)
and L. (may he soon know the joy of words)

Alpheios the swirl
of falling in love
swirling
Arethousa
fleeing
into the sea
others near
the island of Sikelia-
where a spring
bursts forth
forever
from the ground calling
forever
out to him
her name.

He was a God-
a Potamoi-
he rested his
arm upon
up on
an amphora jug.
The water
pouring out.
Taking up his mind.
Taking it off of a
love
so
far
away.

His father’s looks at the sea
were dark like his own
both thinking of the love of
another.
His thoughts on a lover
gone
gone.
The father’s thoughts on
his mother
a cold breast
a dark chest
and
chains.

Dreaming of a
sea of lost
things.

I recall staring
at golden swirls
on a
lake
at daydown
feeling just
like
Bacchus
riding an
ass.

Stirring death I
find myself beginning
to blunder when
into my spirit
Nisus whispers
wisdom, and
again thinking undoes
what I started before
I have even made it
across the lake.

Then finally
I am across.
a cross.
I must avoid
finding dismay
when there is
no other shelter.

Traveling forward
into the end of the
night westward
leading to that spot
knowing
that nothing lasts.

A master stands in
the middle of the
road.
A crow flies
overhead
indigenous
against the
night if not
for the glow
cast by a lantern’s
spell at the end of

the

night.

“If you know the way,
why do you hold the
lantern?”

“One never holds a
lantern for
themselves,
only for
the others
in the dark-
out there lost.”

In the dark no longer.
It was then I began to
thirst.
Water pouring
swirling
I then took a drink
from
the spring of
Arethousa.

2 Responses to “A Song of Love”

  1. John April 30, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    WOW! What a composition and heart felt work of poetry. I have to read again to capture all the imagery. Your poetic writing style quite unique Matt, I enjoyed reading and will proceed onward and read more. Thank you for sharing such a private moment. Best wishes always.

    • mattspotentialpoetry April 30, 2011 at 3:18 am #

      John, thanks for the comment, and I’m really glad you enjoyed this piece. It was written back in December a few days before Christmas on an early Sir Henry crisp winter morning. I had been made to feel at home by three strangers during what was already proving to be a heart broken and strange holiday season. The poem is dedicated to S., T., and L. for they showed me a kindness when I needed it most. Nothing like the warm embrace of new found friends. They have since become more kin than kith to me, and I am blessed to know such a wonderful family. Looking forward to celebrating their son’s first birthday towards the end of May. I’m sure a poem will tell all about the birthday party of my honorary nephew.

Leave a Reply

