Ink Tree (Your Thigh), I Know Nothing’s For Free

5 May

Me:
cheap date,
painful chin,
near Cincinnati.

You:
ticklish,
exposed,
and appreciative.

Us:
we gave each other
exactly what we
wanted in the
short time we
spent together.

You whispered,
“Maybe you can touch/feel
me up for free next time.”

I smile a smile of
naked trees at
sunset in spring.

4 Responses to “Ink Tree (Your Thigh), I Know Nothing’s For Free”

  1. @euphoriafish May 5, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    I think this is an interesting idea, but you may want to get away from the brevity of the personals ads to expand more on the emotions and characterizations that an ad can only hint at.

    • mattspotentialpoetry May 5, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

      I completely understand what you are saying about the brevity of a personal ad not lending itself to an expansion upon the emotions and characterizations expressed within, but it is within the brevity that my new collection of poems is trying to capture. I personally find the strange snapshot qualities of personal ads intriguing, and I hope to capture that strange quality in these new poems. Thanks for reading, and taking the time to think about the post. I imagine some will be naturally longer than others, keep reading as new ones will be posted soon. Namaste.

  2. Katey May 6, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    The brevity of this work is exactly what it needs; no more, no less. I definitely agree with your direction, Matt. Then again, I’ve been favouring abrupt endings (or stunted beginnings, if you rather) in literature lately. But I love that imagery at the end: “naked trees at sunset in spring.” That’s good. That’s really good. I like that very much.

    • mattspotentialpoetry May 7, 2011 at 2:25 am #

      Glad you see and agree in the direction I am going in. Oddly I have been favoring abrupt endings and stunted beginnings as well, and sometimes both in the same poem. Yeah, that poem did not come together until I finally caught that last image, and damned if I hadn’t been chasing it awhile when I did. Thanks for reading as always, and to hear your thoughts is always a pleasure. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

