Love Cats Play Even While I Sleep

9 May

All I have to do is
close my eyes to
see you.

I don’t think my
goodbye really counted,
as I did not mean it
as my heart was not
yet free.

I end each day the same
stretching out  my arms
and reaching for my
guitar. I have no place
to go, and I brew a
pot of tea.

The pot boils and I play
a song,
tra, la, la, tra, la, la
and you could even sing
along until you fall
asleep.

Oh, baby I guess what
I’m trying to say
is that I have a little
room in my soul. It is
all empty, just a hole.
I’m waiting for a bird
to come to roost at last.
Wings beating a pitter
patter heart
clap, clap, clap
tra, la, la, tra, la, la

as dream tigers
in love
play even while I
sleep.

Leave a Reply

