Imitating a Flower

4 Sep

This afternoon I sit on a stone
surrounded by lovely green bushes
and I drink so quietly that I go
unnoticed like some strange flower.

A hummingbird hovers for a moment
in front of me, yeah
that’s how quietly
I’m drinking.

2 Responses to “Imitating a Flower”

  1. ShonEjai September 4, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    This is an amazing experience isn’t it? I am happy to say that it actually happened to me a few months ago. I was visiting the local Botanical Gardens and decided to sit and rest a bit. Well after a few minutes of stillness, a hummingbird showed up! Good thing I had my camera with me! Love the title you gave it.

    • mattspotentialpoetry September 5, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      I sit outside and drink beer on my little rock stool many a day and many an evening, and the first time it happened it quite honestly scared the hell out of me- that close to your face a hummingbird is bigger than they appear darting around in the sky. I’ve gotten used to it now, but sadly I’m never quick enough on the uptake to get a shot off. Yeah, the title took me a few tries, but I liked what I finally came up with as well. Thanks for stopping by again. Peace.

Leave a Reply

