Walking Streets Before Dawn

5 Sep

The horizon is made up
of wires and weeds.
It is a slow dawn
befuddled i just walk
on
and
on.

At every intersection
I try
to meet others with
their down cast eyes.
The sun soon will
draw colors
in the
air.

My dreams have gotten
me this far, but no
further. I confess my
poverty to the
hungry dawn
that will soon eat
up the
moon.

I stand at this corner
of memory looking
up and
down
this street.
This corner the only
witness to my ever
having passed by
here.

The street lamps
soon will flicker
and fade out they
are no longer
needed, and I
feel a certain
kind of kinship
with
them.

I begin to whistle
a formless tune
walking by fresh
milk just delivered.
I will soon,
very soon now,
greet another
lonely
dawn.

4 Responses to “Walking Streets Before Dawn”

  1. ShonEjai September 6, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Each time I visit your blog I am not disappointed. I have added you to my reading list. I started a challenge just for us photographer/poets. I couldn’t find very many out there that included both talents so I decided to start one myself. I am inviting you to stop by and enter the challeged. The link is on my blog. I would love to have you. 🙂

    Again great poem!

    • mattspotentialpoetry September 6, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      Well thanks so much for the kind words, I try not to disappoint, and it is nice to know there are a few people out there who are enjoying my words and pictures. I will stop over and partake in the challenge in mere moments. As far as reading lists go I have also added your blog to mine as I quite enjoy your words and pictures as well. Peace.

  2. Peter Sharkface (@Mothpete) September 7, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    I really enjoyed this write. Just the mood in the title alone was intriguing.

    • mattspotentialpoetry September 7, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words! I’m really glad the title worked for you as it took me quite a few tries to really nail that title. I was very pleased with it, and oddly it came about as a last minute edit and rearranging of the title I thought I was going to go with. Peace.

Leave a Reply

