Please Say We Aren’t Done Yet

8 Sep

Transplants performed in hospitals
hospitals where love is not
considered carcinogenic.

She looked parched and
she bit her lip-
moving under my hands.

Her eyes winking and
lacquered toes and
butterfly fingers.

A whisper,
a smile, and
a laugh.

I plucked a bud off
a sweet shrub near
at hand.

An English dictionary,
a small tin container, and
a light?

Your burial of my
heart?

These words that you speak
to everyone are laughingstocks
to each different sort of person.

And every wound I’ve made could
heal. The wounds you raved over
them.

Your voice given over to
echoes in my
heart.

… Naturally it tickled
against my ankle- don’t know
what made me think of it.

Oh, the northward trek I do
embrace, and you speak of
tinny embraces under the
hunger moon.

4 Responses to “Please Say We Aren’t Done Yet”

  1. ShonEjai September 8, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Beautiful! I love reading your work. Your words are very deep and thought provoking. ‘Your voice given over to echoes in my heart’ is a beautiful line. Thanks for entering the challenge.

    • mattspotentialpoetry September 8, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words, and I think that line is what saved the poem for me- it really brought it all together. As for entering the challenge you are most welcome. Peace.

  2. wordcoaster September 10, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    This is wonderful–especially love the last stanza “tinny embraces under the hunger moon”. Awesome! 🙂

    • mattspotentialpoetry September 10, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

      Thanks so much for stopping by and the kind words- both are appreciated. As for the last stanza it took a little while to get it right- I’m glad it ended up coming off! Peace.

Leave a Reply

