Shasta Daisy

14 Sep

Shasta Daisy cool and sweet
and hot. How I long for those
spring days we shared. Tasting
your sweet sweat in an abandoned
jeep within the old red shed. I
yearn again for the time
when your petals unfolded
and yielded to me, engulfing
all that was me.

Glistening
moist
panting-
we clung to each other
like religions to their
idols.

I devoured you,
you swallowed me whole,
and all around us the shed
was dark. Inside the jeep
that was old and wrecked
we kept finding each other
again and again until we
were both lost to each other
forever.

2 Responses to “Shasta Daisy”

  1. ShonEjai September 15, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    As always, you have mesmerized me with your words. You have a beautiful style. It seems like poetry just oozes from your pore! Well done!

    • mattspotentialpoetry September 15, 2011 at 12:43 am #

      I’ve been going through a lot of my old poetry journals, and dug up this relic that is fifteen years old at least. I appreciate as always your kind words, and am glad you enjoyed it so much!

Leave a Reply

