Crestfallen Train Wreck Rider

10 Jul

*Note: This poem was pulled out of the past to introduce myself to a new group of poets at dVerse Poet’s Pub as part of their OpenLinkNight.

Lobotomy joy bop bodies
in an ashcan dancehaze
with peels of neongiggle
gibberish unshaven
wild detectives
on the roadside
snatch the fairies
right up.

They lounge in the highway
blues with chained electricity,
and roaring basement alchemy
poured slowly into wineglasses.
Locomotives shiver on by
dragging their lightning swords.
Click click click cameras
capture the shame of whoring
hotel delights and harpsichords
floating in whiskey.

A weeping telepathic archangel
stands on the corner with filthy
vibrating stanzas in his hands-
full of screaming
horrors,
volcanoes,
radiate with moans.
Tenements shudder,
and hospitals grow children.

The pavement is hungry for
motorcyclists & drunk firetruck
tears. I scribble a postcard of
waitresses, boxcars and a broken
saxophone to my dead Grandfather
across the bridge of gloaming
streetlight incantations,
and police cars
wails.

A ping pong visionary plays
railway skull hypnotist tricks
among the broken and butchered
bottles. Alcohol womb of the midnight
sun and gas station hallucinations.
The salvation of a dollar and rooftop
tragedies blur by as illuminated
riverferris wheels dance and spin
toward the heavens above me.

8 Responses to “Crestfallen Train Wreck Rider”

  1. claudia July 10, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    …and what a great poem to introduce yourself…warm welcome at dVerse.. love all the images in this, how you capture the atmosphere…my fav…I scribble a postcard of
    waitresses, boxcars and a broken
    saxophone to my dead Grandfather…

    • mattspotentialpoetry July 10, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

      Claudia, thanks for the warm welcome, and I was going to write a new poem to introduce myself to dVerse, but then I found this old lost rain dog! Glad you enjoyed this, and your fav is one of my own- also that image is the reason I decided to post this today by way of introduction. Peace.

  2. brian miller July 10, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    oh this is really good…reminds me a bit of Corso….great mash up words and creating some fantastic visuals…would love to hear this one…gotta cool rhythm…

    • mattspotentialpoetry July 10, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      Brian, thanks for the kind words. I have never read any Gregory Corso, but now I have added him to my reading list- thanks for that (not quite sure how I missed discovering him given I’ve always loved the Beats)! And this is one when I wrote it I was concentrating on the sounds of the words and the rhythm, so I’m glad that resonated with you. Peace.

      • Gay Reiser Cannon July 10, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

        Strong imagery and stunning juxtapositions. While it’s more cubist than “Tom Thumb’s Blues” the tone of it put me in mind of that song. It certainly captures a kind of post urban decay and has an apocalyptic feel to it. Welcome to dVerse. Hope you find friendship and inspiration here. It’s a pleasure to read you!

      • mattspotentialpoetry July 10, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

        Gay, thanks for such high praise. I was really just writing this piece years ago late one night, and only had rhythm and sounds of words guiding me- the images sprang unbidden from my mind- but it does have a sort of apocalyptic feel to it. Thanks for the welcome, and I’m sure I’ll find inspiration & friendship both. Peace.

  3. Amy Jo Sprague July 11, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    I like this. Very Kerouac and Ginsberg

    • mattspotentialpoetry July 11, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Amy, thanks for such uber kind comparisons, and it is safe to say I’m a long time fan of both Kerouac & Ginsberg. Peace.

Leave a Reply

