A Smile of Petals Stroking Handfuls of Sleep

13 Jul

You are sitting open
down huddling on the
Sun
under a fur tree.
Silently you carry spring
limp roots sprouting
stroking bluets
singwishstarworms.
Yes we touch.

I perceive eyes
close/shut.
Heaving breath
equals all the
beautifully frail
sleeping people
touching
trembling.
My soul
forever
understands
the rain.

8 Responses to “A Smile of Petals Stroking Handfuls of Sleep”

  1. kolembo July 13, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    Yes, we touch.
    It’s great poetry!
    Both pay off’s first and second stanza are wonderful, and the whole is so…gentle.
    Enjoyed!

    • mattspotentialpoetry July 13, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      Kolembo, uber glad that you enjoyed this piece, and I preciate the kind words of praise. Peace.

  2. brian miller July 14, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    dude…excellent closure on understanding the rain…this is def well spun man…like the mash up words as well….

    • mattspotentialpoetry July 15, 2012 at 5:08 am #

      Brian, thanks for the groovy words, brother, and to me it was the closing that really brought this poem together for me in my mind! Peace.

  3. Emma July 20, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    I like the way you mix the gentle images of nature with the more surreal images and ideas, it’s got a nice dreamy effect. Love this part especially:

    Silently you carry spring
    limp roots sprouting
    stroking bluets
    singwishstarworms.

    Your photos really go far to highlight the poetry as well. I find I enjoy the process of matching a photo to a poem nearly as much as writing the poem itself, so it’s always neat to find other poets using their own pictures to pair with their poems. Great stuff here.

    • mattspotentialpoetry July 21, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      Emma, groovy to hear you enjoyed this strange little piece which was exactly as you surmised mixing gentle nature images with more surreal ones and concepts. As for the photos I take all of them myself (I also occasionally draw something if I want to mix things up a bit), and enjoy matching them up with my poems, or at times enjoy writing a poem to go along with a photo that particularly moves me. I quite enjoy your blog as well as I’ve found many bloggers that use photos to accompany their words- I’ve only found a few who also take all their own pictures (or at least take the majority of their own pictures)- for me it is another way to share something that would otherwise not be seen. Thanks for stopping by, and hope you become a regular reader. Peace.

  4. Mohana July 20, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    This is beautiful…soft, lovely.

Leave a Reply

